You are here

Friends of the Friends of the ATC: Building Food Sovereignty in Nicaragua

Sunday, February 28, 2021
3pm Eastern Time - 12pm PST / 2pm Nicaragua / 8pm GMT
Zoom: Register here https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN__ApvF2Q2TcmyO7HZyGU9VQ

Thank you to Friends of the ATC for hosting this event.  Register here. 

Come join Friends of the ATC webinar on food sovereignty on February 28th to talk about farm workers, agroecology, and government porgrams in Nicaragua!

Nicaraguans are hard at work on a multi-faceted approach to ensure people's freedom from hunger and adequate nutrition. The speakers in this webinar will discuss Nicaragua's efforts toward food sovereignty, including farmer associations like the ATC, agroecology projects, and government programs such as Zero Hunger and school meals.

Speakers:
Erika Takeo is a North American based in Managua, Nicaragua. She is the coordinator of the Friends of the ATC, the solidarity network with the Rural Workers Association, and also a part of the international staff team in the Continental Operating Secretariat of the Latin American Coordination of Rural Organizations, CLOC, the expression of La Via Campesina in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Rita Jill Clark-Gollub has lived in the United States most of her life, but has family roots in Nicaragua. While always generally in support of the Sandinista Revolution, since 2018 she has been studying the situation in the country more closely in an effort to sort through the misinformation published in U.S. corporate media. The past two years she attended two study delegations to Nicaragua, learning lots and making new connections with social movements on the ground.

The webinar will have a duration of 75 minutes and will be recorded. Please register for the webinar to receive a follow-up email with the event recording and additional materials.

This is the February edition of a monthly webinar series on Nicaragua, hosted by a coalition of organizations including:
Alliance for Global Justice
Casa Baltimore/Limay
Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign
Chicago ALBA Solidarity
Friends of Sandinista Nicaragua
Friends of Latin America
Task Force on the Americas
Friends of the ATC

Additional organizational sponsors welcome. Contact info.friendsatc@gmail.com if you’d like to sign on and help spread the word.