You are here

Webinar: Nicaragua's Mastery of International Law: Resisting Domination, Promoting Peaceful Progress

Sunday, June 26, 2022
3 PM ET
via Zoom

Sunday, June 26 Nicaragua Webinar 

With Sofia M. Clark

Alliance for Global Justice 

“Nicaragua’s Mastery of International Law:

Resisting Domination, Promoting Peaceful Progress”

12 noon Pacific / 1 PM Nicaragua / 3 PM Eastern / 8 PM Greenwich UK

REGISTER HERE

 

Please join us for this stimulating 75-minute webinar.  Our featured speaker, Sofia M. Clark, will explain how Nicaragua uses its legal expertise to challenge the hegemonic designs of both a world superpower (the US) and a regional power (Colombia).  She will describe Nicaragua’s contributions in various fields of international law, including:

·Peaceful defense in cases against the US, Costa Rica, and Colombia

·Participation in the Sixth (Legal) Committee of the UN General Assembly
·Active involvement in UN Climate Change negotiations – arguing for binding measures, working to establish the Green Fund
·Father Miguel d’Escoto’s proposal for reinventing the United Nations

Nicaragua: Contributions to International Law - reinventing the UN, climate change negotiations, and more

Sofia M. Clark is a Nicaraguan political researcher and analyst, currently at the Miguel d’Escoto Brockmann Center in Managua.  She was Deputy Chief of Staff for her uncle, Fr. Miguel d’Escoto, when he presided over the 63rd session of the United Nations General Assembly.  She also served in three UN field missions and three OAS conflict resolution programs.

These events are part of a monthly webinar series on Nicaragua.  Additional organizational sponsors are welcome. Contact madeline@afgj.org to sign on. 
Current sponsors:
Alliance for Global Justice
Anticonquista
Baltimore Club CPUSA
Casa Baltimore/Limay
Chicago ALBA Solidarity
Claudia Jones School for Political Education
Echoes of Silence
Fire This Time Movement for Social Justice – Canada
Frente Hugo Chavez para la Defensa de los Pueblos-Canada
Friends of Latin America
Friends of Sandinista Nicaragua
Friends of the ATC
Friendship Office of the Americas
International Action Center
InterReligious Task Force on Central America
Jubilee House Community
Massachusetts Peace Action
Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign
Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign Action Group
Rights Action
Task Force on the Americas
US Peace Council

Victor Jara Siempre Canta